The finals take place at the end of the men’s and women’s seasons: the WTA Finals for the women, and the Nitto ATP Finals and Next Gen ATP Finals for the men. These competitions are contested by the top eight players in their category, based on results over the course of the year.

WTA Finals
The Cream of the crop

The WTA Finals are the grand finale of the women’s season. Played every year in late October and early November, this competition is contested by the eight best-ranked athletes in the WTA. The season’s eight best doubles pairs also compete at the event.

Rolex Testimonees Garbiñe Muguruza (2021), Caroline Wozniacki (2017) and Justine Henin (2006, 2007) have won the WTA Finals while Angelique Kerber, Sloane Stephens and Li Na have also been particularly impressive, reaching the final of this competition. Chris Evert was crowned champion of the women’s finals four times, in 1972, 1973, 1975 and 1977.

The end-of-year climax

At the end of an intense season, the world’s eight best players and the eight best doubles pairs are invited to take on one last challenge: the Nitto ATP Finals. The grand finale takes place each November in Turin, with the first edition staged there in 2021. The 12 previous events were played in London.

Rolex Testimonees Björn Borg (1979, 1980), Stefan Edberg (1989), and Roger Federer (2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011) have won the ATP Finals, previously known as the Grand Prix Masters, the Tennis Masters Cup and the ATP World Tour Finals.

By supporting New-generation athletes, Rolex is looking ahead to secure the future of tennis


Since 2021, Rolex has been the Official Timekeeper of the Intesa Sanpaolo Next Gen ATP Finals, which take place annually in November. Founded in 2017, this competition is based on the same criteria and format as the Nitto ATP Finals, and contested by the best eight players under 21 in the ATP rankings. By joining forces with this competition for rising stars, Rolex is demonstrating its commitment to the future of global tennis.

Recent Next Gen ATP Finals have all been won by Rolex Testimonees: Carlos Alcaraz in 2021, and Jannik Sinner in 2019 (the 2020 event was cancelled).

Share this page