WHEN TENNIS BECOMES A TEAM SPORT

Rolex partners two major international team competitions: the Davis Cup and the Laver Cup. High points in the tennis season, these two events are a chance for the world’s best players to show another side of sporting excellence, where athletes raise their game for the good of the team. This team spirit echoes the Rolex values.

The Davis Cup
Individual excellence, team spirit

A Davis Cup partner since 2007, Rolex has given its backing to the revised national team competition. In 2019, the Davis Cup revamped its format, adopting a more condensed competition schedule.

The Davis cup

A LEGENDARY COMPETITION

Founded in 1900 by Harvard student Dwight Filley Davis, the men’s team-based tennis match between the USA and Great Britain soon became a global competition. In 1945, The International Lawn Tennis Challenge was renamed the Davis Cup in tribute to its founder. For more than 120 years, this event has given the world’s best players the opportunity to raise the bar and put their team and country first. With participants from 125 nations, the long-standing competition is still going strong.

THEY CONQUERED THE DAVIS CUP

  • Björn Borg
    1975 for Sweden
  • Jim Courier
    1992, 1995 for the USA
  • Roger Federer
    2014 for Switzerland
  • Juan Martín del Potro
    2016 for Argentina
  • Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
    2017 for France

STEFAN EDBERG
EXEMPLARY CHAMPION OF THE DAVIS CUP

Stefan Edberg put his all into the Davis Cup, emerging triumphant four times with Sweden in 1984, 1985, 1987 and 1994. During his stellar career, the champion was a strong advocate of attacking tennis, winning 41 singles titles, including six Grand Slam® crowns, at the Australian Open (2), Wimbledon (2) and the US Open (2). Inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 2004, Edberg became a Rolex Testimonee in 2018.

LAVER CUP
INTERNATIONAL SHOWPIECE

Launched in 2017 by Roger Federer with Rolex as Founding Partner, this competition pits Europe against the rest of the world in a format similar to the Ryder Cup golf event. This international competition is played over three days, creating an exceptional intensity. It takes place every year in September, two weeks after the US Open. The first three editions took place in Prague, Chicago and Geneva, respectively. With the 2020 event cancelled, the Laver Cup was hosted in Boston, USA, in 2021.

A TRIBUTE TO THE TENNIS GREATS

Founder of the Laver Cup, Roger Federer has succeeded in bringing together four generations of champions for the three-day tournament. Australian legend Rod Laver is the figurehead of this novel competition. The Swede and 11-time Grand Slam® champion Björn Borg and the American and seven-time Grand Slam® winner John McEnroe rekindle their famous battles at the turn of the 1980s, this time as team captains. And so modern-day champions compete as the legends that inspired them look on.

Three days, four generations, twelve matches

Europe and The World each play in teams of six. Three players qualify based on their ATP ranking, while the other three are selected by the captain. The competition is packed into three intense days with three singles matches and one doubles match played daily. The matches follow a best-of-three-sets format with a 10-point super tiebreaker in the event of split sets being level.

Backed by the ATP since 2019, this unique competition honours the greatest names in tennis and paves the way for the future of the sport. For Björn Borg, “Only the Laver Cup can reunite so many great players in one place. So it’s the best thing that could ever happen to tennis. It’s the future of tennis.”

Share this page

当网球成为团队运动

劳力士与两大国际团体赛事合作,分别是戴维斯杯及拉沃杯。此两项赛事均为网球赛季的重头戏,是世界各地最优秀的球手展示卓越体育团体精神的舞台。团队精神与劳力士所秉持的价值观相互呼应。

戴维斯杯
个人技术、团队精神

劳力士自2007年成为戴维斯杯的合作伙伴,并一直支持改革国家队制比赛。戴维斯杯最终于2019年更改赛制,采用更密集的比赛日程。

戴维斯杯

传奇赛事

这项英美男子团体网球比赛由哈佛学生怀特・菲利・戴维斯(Dwight Filley Davis)于1900年创立,不久便成为国际赛事。为纪念比赛创始人,国际草地网球挑战赛(The International Lawn Tennis Challenge)于1945年将赛事重新命名为戴维斯杯。逾120年来,这项赛事让世界精英球手有机会提升网球标准,并将团队及国家放在首位。此历史久远的球赛吸引来自125个国家的参加者,至今依然广受注目。

他们夺得戴维斯杯桂冠

  • 比约恩・博格
    1975年,瑞典队
  • 吉姆・考瑞尔
    1992年、1995年,美国队
  • 罗杰・费德勒
    2014年,瑞士队
  • 胡安・马丁・德尔波特罗
    2016年,阿根廷队
  • 乔-维尔弗雷德・特松加
    2017年,法国队

史蒂芬・埃德博格
戴维斯杯冠军典范

史蒂芬・埃德博格(Stefan Edberg)于戴维斯杯中全力以赴,先后在1984年、1985年、1987年及1994年代表瑞典队四度夺冠。在其璀璨的职业生涯中,这位球手多次击败劲敌,共赢得41项单打冠军,其中包括6个大满贯桂冠,分别是澳大利亚网球公开赛(2)、温布尔登网球锦标赛(2)及美国公开赛(2)。埃德博格于2004年获邀加入国际网球名人堂(International Tennis Hall of Fame),并于2018年成为劳力士代言人。

拉沃杯
国际赛事楷模

这项比赛由罗杰・费德勒于2017年创办,劳力士是创立合作伙伴,作赛形式类似莱德杯(Ryder Cup)高尔夫球赛事,让欧洲与世界其他地区对垒。此国际赛为期三天,赛程非常紧凑。比赛在每年9月开锣,也就是美国公开赛结束后两周。首三届赛事分别在布拉格、芝加哥及日内瓦举行。拉沃杯于2020年取消赛事,2021年在美国波士顿复办。

向网坛巨星致敬

在为期三天的比赛中,拉沃杯创始人罗杰・费德勒成功让四代冠军聚首一堂。澳大利亚传奇球手罗德・拉沃是这项崭新赛事的灵魂人物。荣获11项大满贯(Grand Slam®)殊荣的瑞典代表比约恩・博格(Björn Borg)与七夺大满贯冠军的美国球手约翰・麦肯罗(John McEnroe),以队长身分参赛,重现在1980年代的著名对决。当代冠军亦在传奇球手观战下施战浑身解数。

三天、四代、十二场比赛

欧洲及世界其他地区队伍分别以六人组队参赛。其中三名球手根据ATP排名获得参赛资格,其余三人则由队长亲自选择。比赛集中在三天内举行,每天设有三场单打赛及一场双打赛。比赛采用三局两胜制,在分组赛平局的情况下则采用10分超级决胜局。

此独特赛事自2019年获ATP支持,以表彰网球界的伟人,并为网坛的未来发展铺路。比约恩・博格指:“唯有拉沃杯才能吸引诸多出色球手。这是网球史上的壮举。这亦是网坛的未来。”

分享此页面