The anatomy of a Rolex

Movements

Parachrom hairspring

Parachrom hairspring

Why blue?

This is what our Parachrom hairspring looks like. It is an essential guardian of the watch’s chronometric precision. Unveiled in 2005, entirely designed and manufactured in house, it nears the apex of what metal alloy hairsprings can offer. The scale of the image might throw you off, though.

Its edge is thinner than a single strand of hair and its weight is merely a fraction of a pearl’s. Moreover, once coiled, its diameter does not exceed a few millimeters. It is shielded from outside aggressions by a case so hermetic it was aptly named “Oyster”. Needless to say, it is a rare occurrence for any eyes to be laid on the Parachrom. So why would we be concerned by its colour? Because this hue of blue is true to our tradition of watchmaking excellence. It is the exact colour taken by our unique alloy of niobium, zirconium and oxygen when it has been anodized to stop the process of oxidation. This blue is essential to us, because it symbolizes the long-lasting performances which we hold ourselves to. This hairspring is insensitive to magnetic fields, unwavering in the face of temperature variations, and resistant to shocks as to corrosion. Therefore, each Rolex equipped with a Parachrom hairspring will tick at a most regular and perpetual beat.

Parachrom hairspring
Chronergy escapement

Chronergy

Nothing escapes us

This is our Chronergy escapement, introduced in 2015. This mechanism transmits energy with unrelenting precision to regulate the heartbeat of the watch. Its wheel and anchor have been redesigned to optimize the system’s efficiency.

The overarching principle is simple: an anchor with two pallets frees the rotation of a dented wheel, in a minutely timed dance. “Tick”, the first pallet stops the wheel. “Tock”, it releases it and leaves the second pallet to halt its rotation. And so on. This happens eight times per second without ever skipping a single beat. That makes 28,800 rounds per hour, amounting to 14,400 “ticks” and as many “tocks”. A metronomic and perpetual cadence that sets every cog and wheel in motion. Which, in turn, brings the watch to life. Yet further proof that, when it comes to mastering time, nothing escapes us.

Chronergy escapement
Paraflex

Paraflex

Shocking!

This is the Paraflex, our shock absorber introduced in 2005. It is an absolutely crucial element in the protection of our horological movements. One which we designed and manufactured solely ourselves. Its specific purpose is to neutralize any and all effects brought about by the knocks and bumps of everyday life.

One may wonder how such a minuscule shield, no bigger than a grain of rice, could achieve such a feat? It is through the interaction of two separate properties which, in a never-ending dance, offset the consequences of all shocks at all times. The Paraflex moves one way, then the other, all within a fraction of a second. On the one hand, it bends at each impact to disperse the energy, then returns to its original shape. On the other, it displaces itself so as to preserve the functionality of the balance wheel and escapement anchor. Thus engaging the guarantee of the chronometric performance of the calibre in all circumstances. It is through this unique ballet of deformation and displacement that the Paraflex preserves the watch’s movement with its own.

Paraflex
Perpetual rotor

Perpetual rotor

Always on

This is the Perpetual rotor. Rolex’s automatic winding mechanism. It enables the watch to be constantly wound by the wrist’s movement. Invented in our workshops, then patented, it was introduced in 1931. We have ceaselessly improved this groundbreaking innovation which, since then, has tipped the world of watchmaking off its old axis.

In a constant state of unstable equilibrium, the half-moon oscillating weight is beholden to Earth’s gravity and cannot escape it. Therefore, it rotates with the wearer’s every gesture, and sways in one direction or the other. The energy generated by these oscillations is transferred to the mainspring, which is continually wound, through a clever system comprised of inverters and a gear train. Thus stored, the energy is released simultaneously to activate the horological movement, ultimately moving the hands of the watch. Regularly. Precisely. For though we all seek balance, it is imbalance that drives us to move, perpetually.

Perpetual Rotor
Saros calendar

Saros

Why complicate matters?

31, 28, 31, 30, 31, 30, 31, 31, 30, 31, 30, 31: the annual sequence of months is more complicated than it appears. In horological terms, its inconsistency must be addressed when designing an annual calendar such as our Saros, first introduced in 2012 with the Sky-Dweller.

Like all annual calendars, it autonomously differentiates months with 30 and 31 days and only requires to be set once every year, when February turns to March. Developing such a complication usually requires beautifully intricate mechanisms, with countless levers, cams and springs. But it is a different type of beauty that has always held our favour: that of simplicity. No matter how difficult it may be to reach. Here, it took us many years of development to finally make our annual calendar, using only four gear wheels and two gear ratios. Nothing more. Its conception is so efficient, the movement’s performance and durability are in no way affected. To the contrary, it allows for the energy dispensed by the feature to be perfectly managed. Perhaps that is why it is considered a horological prowess. The Saros is a most ingenious watchmaking complication.

Saros Calendar

Rolex Watchmaking Know-how

Excellence in the making

解构劳力士腕表

机芯

Parachrom游丝

Parachrom游丝

卓越之蓝

这就是Parachrom游丝,精准计时的守护者,完全由劳力士内部设计制造,于2005年推出,性能已达合金游丝的顶峰。此图像已经放大,实物其实非常精细,边缘比一根发丝还细微,重量比一粒珍珠还轻盈,盘绕后直径只有几毫米。

为防外部干扰,置于密封良好、形似牡蛎的外壳中,因而得名“蚝式”。游丝深藏不露,极少为人亲眼目睹,那么关注其颜色有何意义? 这种蓝色色调,是劳力士独有的铌、锆和氧组成的顺磁性合金,经防氧化的阳极处理后呈现出来的颜色,因而代表着Parachrom游丝出色的防磁、耐温差、抗震、抗腐蚀性能,传承了我们卓越非凡的制表传统,象征着我们不懈追求的恒久性能。Parachrom游丝,卓越之蓝,恒动不息。

Parachrom游丝
Syloxi硅游丝

Syloxi硅游丝

微小但力量巨大

这是我们研制的Syloxi硅游丝。该游丝完全在我们的制造工厂内,以硅精炼而成,并在2014年率先搭载于2236型机芯。  

这个游丝摆轮组件的独特几何结构,确保腕表达到天文台精密时计级精准。虽然这个游丝摆轮组件是专为中小型直径及纤薄腕表而设计,但其品质仍卓越不凡。Syloxi游丝具弹性且坚韧,轻巧且耐用,虽然厚度只有微米,但在腕表运行方面,却发挥巨大力量。

Syloxi hairspring
Chronergy擒纵系统

Chronergy擒纵系统

细致入微 尽在掌控

这是我们在2015年推出的Chronergy擒纵系统。这个机械系统可精准无误地传递能量,调节腕表振频。其重新设计的齿轮及锚形部件,大大提升了系统的运行效率。

首要的运作原则非常简单:一个有两个擒纵叉的锚形部件,让一个凹陷齿轮作精准的旋转。“嘀”,第一个擒纵叉停止齿轮转动,然后在它释放齿轮时,第二个擒纵叉便会停止齿轮转动,发出“嗒”的声响,如此交替循环运行。这个“嘀嗒”的循环,于每秒产生八次,无一错漏。这样每小时便产生了14,400下“嘀”声,以及同样次数的“嗒”声,合计为28,800次振频。这样便产生了稳定恒动的节奏,使每个齿轮相互连系,运作起来,从而让腕表保持恒动生命力。历经实证,当谈及时间,细致入微,尽在掌控。

Chronergy擒纵系统
Paraflex缓震装置

Paraflex缓震装置

以静制动

劳力士Paraflex缓震装置于2005年推出,完全由劳力士内部设计和制造,是保护机芯精准运行的关键,能消除日常佩戴腕表时碰撞晃动的影响。

Paraflex不过米粒大小,看似微不足道,为何能担此重任? 其中奥妙在于两种不同性能相互作用。它先向一个方向移动,然后移向另一方,几分之一秒内瞬间完成,仿佛在翩翩起舞,永不停步,时时刻刻消除所有震动的影响。每次承受冲击,它会弯曲以消散冲击力,然后恢复原来形态;此外还向旁边移位,从而确保平衡摆轮和擒纵锚运转如常。因有Paraflex守护,保证劳力士机芯在任何境况下皆能精准计时。变形、移位,仿佛翩翩起舞,守护精准计时。

Paraflex缓震装置
恒动摆陀

恒动摆陀

恒久脉动

这就是恒动摆陀,劳力士的自动上链装置,让腕表能随着手腕的活动不断上链。这项技术是劳力士在1931年推出的独创专利发明,自那以后它经过不断改进,为制表行业带来了新的发展。

恒动摆陀始终处于动态之中,半月形自动陀始终受到地球引力牵引,随着佩戴者的每一个动作而旋转并左右摆动。这种动作产生的能量,通过自动环回轮和传动轮系组成的创新系统传递到主发条,从而持续上链,储存能量。同时,能量也不断释放,推动机芯和指针运转,周而复始,精准恒动。每个细微动力,推动恒久脉动。

恒动摆陀
星期显示

星期显示

永不妥协 永不言简

这是我们在星期日历型腕表上独有的星期盘。它于1956年面世,并自1973年起,提供26种语言显示。

在其弧形星期显示窗中,新的一天会于午夜显示,并与日历盘完美同步。我们从不使用简写文字,每一天都以星期全写显示。虽然这只是一个细节,但它却体现了我们不懈追求完美,一丝不苟,以及永不妥协的态度。对细节深思熟虑,巨细无遗,成就非凡工艺和卓越设计。

星期显示
沙罗年历

沙罗

化繁为简

31、28、31、30、31、30、31、31、30、31、30、31:每个月天数各不相同,使年历变得复杂,制表行业设计年历时必须解决这个问题。2012年劳力士首次在纵航者型上推出创新的沙罗年历,像所有年历一样自动区分30天和31天的月份,每年只需在2月变到3月时调校一次。

这种复杂功能通常需要非常精巧的机械装置,包括无数的杠杆、凸轮和弹簧。但劳力士一直追求另一种简约之美。即使难度很大,劳力士经多年精心研发,最终创制出只用四个齿轮和两套轮系传动比的年历。其设计理念非常高效,机芯的性能和耐用性丝毫不受影响,且能完美地控制此功能所分配的能量,这也彰显了劳力士制表技术上的超凡实力。沙罗年历装置,彰显精妙之技。

沙罗年历

劳力士制表工艺专业知识

创造卓越